Office Memes

I work in the legal department of a large network of non-profit organizations. I’m not a lawyer, so my job is to help manage the department schedule and to-do list and to implement all of the non-legal work that the department is responsible for. I schedule board meetings, I maintain our corporate registrations, I manage all incoming and outgoing correspondence.

I spend a lot of my time sending the same emails over and over again. “Excuse me, can you please tell me what state this event is happening in?” “Excuse me, but your proposal cuts off mid sentence.” “Excuse me, this is in french.” We have pages of resources on how to efficiently correspond with legal. We run trainings. I talk people through procedures over the phone. But I worry that three quarters of the thoughtfully crafted information I send out into the ether is never read or processed by anyone at all.

And I can’t really blame anyone. These people are busy! And frankly, this shit is boring! In the age of Vine and Buzzfeed, can you really expect a person to take the minutes it takes to read a single spaced memo on organizational political compliance protocol?!

Enter legal-department memes. My side project to spice-up our communications and bring the legal department into the 21st century.

This is what I have so far:this proposal.

CP

bekewl

There’s a seemingly endless well of inspiration for these.

Leave a comment